Before agreeing to a deal with the Jacksonville Jaguars on Thursday, Calais Campbell had been with the Cardinals since 2008, putting him near the top of the list of the longest-tenured professional sports athletes in Arizona.

With Campbell leaving Arizona in free agency, we started thinking about how long he had been with the Cardinals, as well as which other professional athletes in the state had been here the longest.

The current Arizona pro athlete with the most continuous time in Arizona?

RELATED: Mount Rushmore of active Arizona athletes | Changes? | Next class?

Longest-tenured athletes in Arizona pro sports:

1. Coyotes’ Shane Doan – 1996

2. Cardinals’ Larry Fitzgerald – 2004

2. Mercury’s Diana Taurasi – 2004

4. Cardinals’ Calais Campbell – 2008 (agreed to deal with Jaguars on March 9)

5. Mercury’s DeWanna Bonner – 2009

6. Coyotes’ Oliver Ekman-Larsson – 2010

7. Diamondbacks’ Paul Goldschmidt – 2011

7. Coyotes’ Mike Smith – 2011

7. Cardinals’ Patrick Peterson – 2011

10. Diamondbacks’ A.J. Pollock – 2012

10. Cardinals’ Justin Bethel – 2012

10. Diamondbacks’ Patrick Corbin – 2012

MORE: Longest pro sports championship droughts – Arizona waiting for title

Just missed the list:

Eric Bledsoe and Alex Len have the most consecutive time with the Suns. They’ve been in Phoenix since 2013.

Joining Bledsoe and Len as other Arizona pro sports athletes in Arizona since 2013 are Earl Watford, Stepfan Taylor, Carson Palmer, Alex Okafor, Kevin Minter, Tyrann Mathieu, Tony Jefferson (agreed to deal with Ravens on March 9, Andre Ellington and Jaron Brown of the Cardinals, Brittney Griner of the Mercury, Randall Delgado of the Diamondbacks and Connor Murphy of the Coyotes.

YOUR TAKE: Which Arizona pro sports team wins title first?


  • Leandro Barbosa has played all or part of nine seasons for the Suns, but his latest stint with the team began in 2016.
  • Jared Dudley has played all or part of six seasons for the Suns, but his latest stint with the team began in 2016.
  • Radim Vrbata has played all or part of seven seasons with the Coyotes, but his latest stint with the team began in 2016.
  • Penny Taylor, who retired from the WNBA at the end of the 2016 season, had been with the Mercury since 2004.
  • Martin Hanzal, who the Coyotes traded earlier this season, had been with the team since 2007.

For more from The Heat Index, go to

Follow Jeremy Cluff on Twitter.


Show Thumbnails

Show Captions