Record-setting quarterback Andrew Walter and two-time track Olympian Amy Hastings Cragg are among eight 2017 inductees into the Arizona State Athletic Hall of Fame.

The new class, from seven different sports, will be formally inducted during a luncheon Oct. 13 and introduced at a home football game against Washington on Oct. 14.

Others inductees are Aaron Aguayo (track), Alejandro Canizares (men’s golf), Ron Davini (baseball), Adria Engel (women’s tennis), Jim Newman (men’s basketball) and Emily Westerberg Love (women’s basketball).

Athletes are eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame, created in 1975, 10 years after their senior class has graduated.

Walter is ASU’s school career passing leader, throwing for 10,617 yards from 2001-04. He also leads in touchdown passes (85), attempts (1,426) and 300-yard passing games (13) and his 536 yards against Oregon in 2002 is a single-game record. He played five years in the NFL, all with Oakland.

In a 2013 list of ASU’s top 50 all-time players, azcentral sports rated Walter at No. 15.

Cragg was a 10-time All-America in track and cross country, 2004 Pac-10 cross country women’s Athlete of the Year and 2007 Pac-12 medal of honor winner. She won the 2006 NCAA Indoor 5,000-meter title and has gone on to become an accomplished pro runner. 

Cragg was 11th in the 10,000 at the 2012 Olympics and ninth in the marathon at the 2016 Olympics. She was 2016 U.S. Olympic Trials marathon champion and won the 10,000 at the 2012 Olympic Trials. 

Other Hall of Fame inductee highlights:

  • Davini was Most Valuable Player at the 1967 College World Series when ASU won its second national title. He his .311 that season as starting catcher and .409 at the CWS. After a five-year pro career, Davini was a high school coach at Tempe Corona del Sol and McClintock high schools for 28 years. 
  • Newman played basketball on ASU’s first NCAA Tournament team in 1958 when he was Border Conference most valuable player. He also was assistant coach under Ned Wulk on NCAA Tournament teams in 1980 and ’81 that went a combined 46-11. Newman died in June but learned of his induction before his death.
  • Westerberg was ASU’s first three-time All Pac-10 selection in women’s basketball. She played from 2003-07 on teams that were a combined 95-34 and led in scoring (13.2 ppg) in 2007 when the Sun Devils won 31 games and reached the NCAA Tournament Elite Eight for the first time. She is married to former ASU football player Grayling Love.
  • Canizares won the NCAA individual championship as a freshman in 2003 and was two-time Pac-10 Player of the Year (2005 and ’06). The Spanish native was a four-time All-America who played on the PGA Tour and won two European Tour titles.
  • Engel also was a four-time All-America, once at Wake Forest and three times at ASU. She won a school record 132 singles matches and was ASU’s first Pac-10 singles champion in 2001. Engel led the Sun Devils to top-10 national finishes from 2000-02 then played professionally for four years. 
  • Aguayo won the Pac-10 3,000-meter steeplechase from 2003-07 and was a two-time cross country All-America. He was third in steeplechase at the 2007 NCAA Outdoor Championships and second at the U.S. Outdoor, qualifying for the World Championships. 

The Hall of Fame luncheon will be held at a new location, the Pera Club, north of campus. Tickets are $50 per person or $500 for a table of 10.