ASU head coach Missy Farr-Kaye and the golf team returns home with the 2017 NCAA Women’s Golf Championship trophy on Thursday, May 25, 2017 at ASU Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz. Video: Rob Schumacher/azcentral sports

Arizona State will host the NCAA Golf Championships for men and women for three consecutive years starting in 2020.

The tournaments will be held at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale on the Raptor course as announced Tuesday by the NCAA and ASU.

ASU last hosted NCAA Championships in 1992 when the women competed at ASU Karsten Golf Course. The NCAA Men’s Championships were held in 1971 in Tucson.

The ASU women are record eight-time NCAA champions including this year.

“To have the NCAA Championships in the Valley is an incredible addition to our community,” ASU women’s golf Missy Farr-Kaye said. “We have the people, the course and the golf knowledge to stage three incredible years of championships. There will be no better experience than a Phoenix crowd watching and encouraging all the teams.”

The ASU men have won two NCAA titles including 1990 when the women also were champions.

“The commitment it takes in vision, resources and time to host six NCAA Championships is massive,” ASU men’s coach Matt Thurmond said. “This shows the incredible support for our golf programs by our athletics department and this community. This will be an amazing addition to the local sports calendar.”

The NCAA men’s and women’s tournaments have been held at the same site for the last three years — Bradenton, Fla, in 2015, Eugene in 2016 and Sugar Grove, Ill., in 2017. This will be the first time the championships will be held at the same site for consecutive years.

“We are fortunate to live in one of the most prestigious golf destinations in the country so what better place to host the NCAA Golf Championships than Scottsdale,” ASU Vice President for Athletics Ray Anderson said. “We intend to illustrate why Arizona is the perfect place for the NCAA Golf Championships.”

The tournaments dates are: May 22-27 (women), May 29-June 3 (men) in 2020; May 21-26 (women), May 28-June 2 (men) in 20201; May 20-25 (women), May 27-June 1 (men) in 2022. 

Grayhawk previously has hosted the PGA Tour Open (2007-09), pro-ams for the Waste Management Phoenix Open (1996-2012), Tommy Bahama Challenge (2004-05) and Thunderbird International Junior (2000-present).

“We are obviously honored to be chosen for this prestigious championship,” Gregg Tryhus, Grayhawk managing partner, said. “Grayhawk has a tradition of hosting competitive tournaments at the highest level.”

The NCAA tournaments will be televised on the Golf Channel. 

Before Eugene in 2016, the championships were most recently held in the West in 2008 for the women (Albuquerque, N.M.) and 2012 for the men (Pacific Palisades, Calif.).

“By choosing one host location for a three-year period beginning in 2020, we will be able to maximize the operations efficiency around the championships while building marketing continuity that will continue to showcase our student-athletes, coaches and teams,” said Jim Fee, chair of the Division I Women’s Golf Committee and associate director of athletics for events and championships at the University of South Florida.  “We are at an unprecedented time for our game and are looking forward to the 2018 championships and beyond.”

The 2018 Division I Men’s and Women’s Golf Championships will be held at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma, while the 2019 championships will be held at The Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Arkansas.