Any discussion of the best high school boys and girls track programs in Arizona has to begin with Chandler Valley Christian and Safford.

After all, Valley Christian has a combined 29 state championships in boys and girls track since 1985 and Safford has a combined 21.

That’s a lot.

Well, that discussion now includes another school: Chandler.

PHOTOS: Arizona’s best high school track programs – ranked by state titles

The Wolves climbed their way up the Arizona high school track state championships chart in recent years.

In fact, with their state championships in 2017, the Chandler High boys and girls track teams now have a combined 18 state championships since 2001.

The boys team has seven state championships over that span.

The girls team has won 11 state titles since 2006, including nine straight from 2006-2014.

That’s not easy to do.

RELATED: Dynasties in Arizona high school sports continue in 2016-17

Take a look at the Arizona high schools that have won more than five state titles in the sport since 1985:

Boys track:

11 titles since 1985

Chandler Valley Christian: Won the 2012 Division IV title under coach Dan Kuiper, who also led team to state titles in 2009, 2007, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002 and 2001. Bernon Benson led school to titles in 1997, 1991 and 1989.

8 titles since 1985

Safford: A dominant program in the state. Last won the 3A title in 2008 under coach Herman Andrews who also led team to titles in 2001, 2000, 1995, 1994, 1993, 1992 and 1991.

7 titles since 1985

Chandler: School won Division I titles in 2017, 2016 and 2012. Also won 5A-I titles in 2010 and 2006. It also won 5A state championships in 2005 and 2001.

6 titles since 1985

Snowflake: Tied for the 2007 3A title with Lakeside Blue Ridge with 74 points under coach Rick Kartchner. Also won back to back 3A titles in 2004-2005. School most recently won the Div. III titles in 2017, 2016 and 2015.

Thatcher: Won the state meet most recently in 2A in 2006 under coach Adam Estrada. Also took home state titles in 2A in 2000, 1999, 1998, 1996 and 1995.

Elfrida Valley Union: Dee Bishop coached team to 1A titles in 1997 and 1996. Coach Gary Mauldin led team to 1A title in 1988. Lindell Jackson was the coach for the school’s titles in 1985, 1986 and 1987.

MORE: Arizona’s best high school baseball programs: Hamilton rising

Girls track:

18 titles since 1985

Chandler Valley Christian: School won 15 straight 2A girls track titles (1996-2010) and 18 of 19 (1992-1994) under coach Dan Kuiper. Highest point total came in 2001 when team got 278 points.

13 titles since 1985

Safford: Under Herman Andrews, team won 13 straight 3A titles from 1986-1998. Andrews also led school to titles in 1983 and 1984. The 1991 team scored 268 points.

11 titles since 1985

Chandler: The Wolves won nine straight state titles from 2006-2014 under coach Eric Richardson. The 2006-1010 titles were in 5A-I. The 2011-14 titles were in Division I. Team most recently won the Div. I title in 2016 and 2017.

7 titles since 1985

Queen Creek: Team edged Oro Valley Canyon del Oro for 2010 4A-I title 78-77. Also won 4A-II titles in 2009, 2007 and 2006. In the 3A ranks, school won the state meet in 2005, 2004 and 2002.

6 titles since 1985

Tempe Prep: School ended Chandler Valley Christian’s 15-year title reign with a Division IV win in 2011. School also won five straight 1A girls titles from 2005-2009, including scoring 187 points in 2008 meet.

MORE: Arizona’s best high school softball programs: Changing of the guard?

Six boys teams and five girls teams have won at least six high school state titles in track in Arizona since 1985. Chandler, Valley Christian and Safford are the only schools to have its boys and girls teams achieve the feat.

To see all the high schools that have won state championships in track in Arizona since 1985, click here.

For more from The Heat Index, go to

Follow Jeremy Cluff on Twitter.

MORE: Arizona’s best high school boys volleyball programs: Elite company


Show Thumbnails

Show Captions