In 2008, Russell Westbrook and Kevin Love were part of a UCLA team that made the Final Four.

It was the Bruins’ third consecutive Final Four appearance.

They haven’t been back since.

In fact, no other Pac-12 team has been in the Final Four during that time either, a drought spanning nine years.

RELATED: Pac-12 Conference delivering in NCAA Tournament

During the Pac-12’s drought, the Big East has sent eight teams to the Final Four. The Big Ten, seven. The Atlantic Coast and Southeastern have each sent five. Even the Missouri Valley, Horizon and Colonial conferences have had Final Four representation.

The Pac-12 has had some close calls during the drought.

Sean Miller, who has taken Arizona to seven consecutive NCAA Tournaments, has led his team to three regional finals.

The Wildcats just haven’t been able to get past the Elite Eight.

Arizona lost in the regional finals in 2015 (85-78 to Wisconsin) and 2014 (64-63 to Wisconsin).

The Wildcats also fell to UConn in the Elite Eight in 2011, 65-63.

The only other Pac-12 team since 2008 to make the Elite Eight was Oregon last season.

The Ducks fell short against Oklahoma in a regional final, 80-68.

They were the only Pac-12 team to advance past the first weekend.

Three Pac-12 teams are in the Sweet 16 this year, so the conference has a chance to end its drought.

MORE: See the Arizonans still in the NCAA Tournament

In the Sweet 16

Arizona, the No. 2 seed in the West, faces No. 11-seed Xavier on Thursday.

Oregon, the No. 3 seed in the Midwest, takes on No. 7 Michigan on Thursday.

UCLA, the No. 3 seed in the South, plays No. 2 Kentucky on Friday.

In Elite Eight matchups?

If Arizona beats Xavier, it would face either No. 1-seed Gonzaga or No. 4 West Virginia on Saturday.

Oregon, if it beats Michigan, would face either No. 1 Kansas or No. 4 Purdue on Saturday.

UCLA, if it defeats Kentucky, would face either No. 1 North Carolina or No. 4 Butler on Sunday.

BEAT BICKLEY: NCAA Tournament contest | MORE: Countdown to Final Four

In the Final Four?

The Elite Eight winners will be in the Final Four, April 1 and 3 in Glendale.

This will the first time since 1995 the NCAA Tournament semifinals and final have been played west of Texas.

NCAA Tournament standings among power leagues (with number of teams entered):

ACC (nine): 7-8

Big 12 (six): 8-3

Big Ten (seven): 8-4

Big East (seven): 5-5

Pac-12 (four): 8-1

SEC (five): 7-2

RELATED: ACC flops in NCAA Tournament

Remaining NCAA Tournament schedule:

West Regional:

Thursday, March 23

Gonzaga (34-1) vs. West Virginia (28-8), 4:39 p.m. (TBS)

Xavier (23-13) vs. Arizona (32-4), 7:10 p.m. (TBS)

Saturday, March 25

Semifinal winners

Midwest Regional:

Thursday, March 23

Michigan (26-11) vs. Oregon (31-5), 4:09 p.m. (CBS)

Purdue (27-7) vs. Kansas (30-4), 6:40 p.m. (CBS)

Saturday, March 25

Semifinal winners

South Regional:

Friday, March 24

Butler (25-8) vs. North Carolina (29-7), 4:09 p.m. (CBS)

Kentucky (31-5) vs. UCLA (31-4), 6:40 p.m. (CBS)

Sunday, March 26

Semifinal winners

East Regional:

Friday, March 24

South Carolina (24-10) vs. Baylor (27-7), 4:29 p.m. (TBS)

Wisconsin (27-9) vs. Florida (26-8), 7 p.m. (TBS)

Sunday, March 26

Semifinal winners


At University of Phoenix Stadium

Glendale, Ariz.

National Semifinals

Saturday, April 1

East champion vs. West champion

South champion vs. Midwest champion

National Championship

Monday, April 3

Semifinal winners

RELATED: Complete NCAA Tournament schedule, with results

azcentral sports’ Doug Haller contributed to this story.

For more from The Heat Index, go to

Follow Jeremy Cluff on Twitter.


Show Thumbnails

Show Captions